EMV 4.2

The EMV 4.2 Specifications consist of four books, available hereafter for view or download. EMV 4.2 includes all EMV 4.1 related Application Notes and Specification Update Bulletins posted to the EMVCo website up to and including May 2008, including changes to the Common Core Definitions.

The table below provides a short description for each book.


Publication DateVersionDescription Download
June 20084.2Book 1 - Application Independent ICC to Terminal Interface Requirements Download
June 20084.2Book 2 - Security and Key Management Download
June 20084.2Book 3 - Application Specification Download
June 20084.2Book 4 - Cardholder, Attendant, and Acquirer Interface Requirements Download